Alternative varieties and regional heroes shine at the 2024 Langhorne Creek Wine Show

Celebrating 10 years on the national wine show circuit

Bleasdale Vineyards takes out Champion Wine of Show at this year’s Langhorne Creek Wine Show, while Bremerton Wines wins Producer of the Year with an impressive five trophies across traditional and alternative varieties.

In a fitting end to his time at Bleasdale Vineyards, outgoing winemaker Paul Hotker’s skills with Malbec were on show once again, with the Bleasdale 2022 Generations Malbec awarded the New Holland Agriculture Best Malbec trophy and ultimately taking home the Multi-Color Corporation Champion Wine of Show. New Bleasdale senior winemaker Matt Laube has worked with Paul for 15 years and accepted the trophy on behalf of the team.

Meanwhile, Bremerton Wines and winemaker Rebecca Willson won an impressive five trophies, including the Belvidere Winery Producer of the Year, offering a taste of both traditional and alternative varieties to the guests attending this year’s Langhorne Creek Wine Show luncheon.

Chair of Judges Sue Bell was joined by wine writer Dave Brookes and Riley Harrison from Harrison Wine, as well as associate judges Sam Rowlands, Tyler Follett and Jordan McAnaney for the 2024 judging.

“The 2021 and 2022 vintages are showing very strong, with a special nod to the Malbec class – a variety that Langhorne Creek can really hang its hat on,” Sue Bell said.

“The balance of poise, fruit and tannin of the Bleasdale 2022 Generations Malbec came out on top, but not without stiff competition.”

Bleasdale and Paul Hotker also won the Cooperages 1912 Best Blended Red Wine trophy with the Bleasdale 2022 Frank Potts Cabernet-blend.

In a solid effort across numerous award categories, Bremerton Wines and Rebecca Willson took home the Orora Closures’ trophy for best Cabernet Sauvignon for the Bremerton 2022 Coulthard Cabernet Sauvignon; Project Wine Pty Ltd’s best Shiraz trophy for the Bremerton 2021 Selkirk Shiraz; and the Jon Burke Creative Digital Video trophy for best red or white made from alternative or other varieties for the Bremerton 2022 Special Release Graciano.

Bremerton also received the Chair of Judges trophy from Sue Bell for the Bremerton 2023 Special Release Mourvèdre.

The FrostBoss Best Sparkling Wine, White Wine or Rosé trophy was awarded to the Lake Breeze 2023 Reserve Chardonnay; the Daish Irrigation / Netafim Best Museum or Fortified trophy went to Treasury Wine Estates’ Pepperjack 2016 Porterhouse Graded Langhorne

Creek Shiraz
, while Dale Wenzel was named Peats Soil & Garden Supplies Grape Grower of the Year, recognising his contribution to the Langhorne Creek wine region.

The awards ceremony on Friday 17th May saw 200 grape growers, winemakers, trade, suppliers and winery staff get together for a regional celebration of the end of the vintage in a marquee on the stunning lawns of Bleasdale Vineyards.


Best Sparkling Wine, White Wine or Rosé Sponsored by FrostBoss
Lake Breeze 2023 Reserve Chardonnay

Best Blended Red Wine – Sponsored by Cooperages 1912
Bleasdale 2022 Frank Potts

Best Cabernet Sauvignon – Sponsored by Orora Beverages – Stelvin Closures
Bremerton 2022 Coulthard Cabernet Sauvignon

Best Shiraz ­– Sponsored by Project Wine Pty Ltd
Bremerton 2021 Selkirk Shiraz

Best Malbec – Sponsored by New Holland Agriculture
Bleasdale 2022 Generations Malbec

Best Red or White Wine Made from Alternative or Other Variety(s)
Sponsored by Jon Burke Creative Digital Video
Bremerton 2022 Special Release Graciano

Best Museum or Fortified Wine – Sponsored by Daish Irrigation & Netafim

Treasury Wine Estates
Pepperjack 2016 Porterhouse Graded Langhorne Creek Shiraz

Chair of Judges Award – Sponsored by Vinpac

Bremerton 2023 Special Release Mourvèdre

Champion Wine of the Show – Sponsored by Multi-Color Corporation
Bleasdale 2022 Generations Malbec

Producer of the Year – Sponsored by Belvidere Winery
Bremerton Wines

Grape Grower of the Year – Sponsored by Peats Soil and Garden Supplies
Dale Wenzel